The British Universities Finance Directors Group (BUFDG) is the representative body for higher education finance staff in the United Kingdom.

Our members are the Directors of Finance and Chief Financial Officers of almost all UK higher education institutions.

BUFDG has the following objectives:

  • to be the recognised channel for the provision, analysis and dissemination of information and comment to all members and other stakeholders concerning best practice in financial management and related topics in higher education.
  • to be the pre-eminent source for information, advice, support, and comment on matters of financial strategy and management in higher education in the UK.
  • to promote high standards and best practice in accounting, audit and financial management in higher education.
  • to provide appropriate opportunities for training and development of higher education finance directors and their staff.
  • to work in partnership with related organisations to provide forums for discussion, consultation and exchange, both nationally and regionally. 

All finance staff at these institutions have their own BUFDG account, which gives them access to this website, and to information resources on training, financial news and all the latest reports and developments in higher education finance.

To find out more about BUFDG, please contact the BUFDG office on 08452 415449 or by email.

Alternatively, you can meet the BUFDG team by visiting the Contact Us page.


BUFDG Executive

Name  Job Title Institution BUFDG Role
Bob Rabone  Chief Financial Officer University of Sheffield Chair
Phil McNaull Director of Finance University of Edinburgh Deputy Chair
Deborah Harry  Chief Financial Officer University of Lincoln Treasurer 
Allan Spencer Director of Finance University of Sussex Secretary
Andrew Murphy  Director of Finance and Planning University of London London & SE Region
Michael Webb  Director of Finance University of Westminster London & SE Region
Sarah Randall-Paley Director of Finance University of Lancaster NW Region
Neil Scott Chief Financial Officer University of Hull NE Region
Donald Matheson Director of Finance University of the West of Scotland Scottish Region
Martyn Riddleston  Director of Finance University of Leicester Midlands Region and Conference Host
Sarah Jones Director of Finance University of Plymouth SW Region
Peter Curran Director of Finance Aberystwyth University Wales
Sally McGill Head of Financial Analysis and Reporting University of Manchester Chair of T&D Group
Caroline Blackman-Edney  Head of Procurement University of Cambridge Chair of PPG